The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. [Specific Task Instruction: Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.]

The speaker claims that sense of cooperation is more important than sense of competition for young people in society nowadays in order to prepare them for the role of leaders. I partly agree with this view.

Cooperation plays an increasingly vital part in the science field as human beings gain more knowledge about the world around us. If we take a look at the Nobel Prize nominees in recent years and compare them with the list decades ago, we'll find that while it was relatively more common for a single person to be nominated before the 21 century, recently it is more often that a team submitted their contribution instead of a person, which informs us that however talented and hardworking one person might be, he or she still needs to work with others for more chance of success.

It is not only the case with scientist that cooperation needs to be empasized. Without the result of teamwork, many of the devices we use daily which facilitates our convenience largely may not even exist. Take our Iphone or Ipad as an example. While it is common sense that Steve Jobs founded the Apple company from with these devices mentioned before were invented and produced, relatively few people are aware that Steve Jobs didn't start the company alone, but co-founded it with his friend Wozniak, without whose help Apple might not be what it is today.

Admittedly, competition should not be neglected as we live in a world with a population over 7 billion. Competition sometimes leads to better solutions to certain problems which will no doutedly increase the quality of our lives. Such is the case in the American election, party leaders have to compete with each other by coming up with proposals more attractive to most of its citizens in order to get elected. However, placing too much significance on competing may sometimes go wrong. If nominees focus on attaching each other instead, nobody would benefit from it.

In conclusion, while we should not deny the importance of competition, it is cooperation that plays a more decisive part in today's world and tomorrow.