The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo suggests that the company should spend more of its budget on raising the public's awareness of good movies available, since last year movies received an increasingly positive views from movie reviewers but the numper of people who attendes Super Screen-produced movies was at its lowest. However, whether this suggestion is reasonable depends on several factors.

The author's claim that fewer people went for movies their company produce is base on a recent report for the marketing department. However, it is not mentioned that how many people was involved in this report, what's the scope of it, how it was carried out and in what ways the questions were asked. Without these information, one can't conclude for certain that the report is valid since there might be some kinds of bias involved in choosing the subjects or the questions asked might be misleading.

Moreover, the writer points out that the increase of positive review by reviewers and the decrease of people watching together indicated that the problem lies in the public's lack of awareness of good movies instead of the qualities of movies. However, if we examine closely, this causal relation might actually be a poor one. The general public and reviewers might not share the same taste in movies, thus a movie that's attractive to the reviewers may not guarantee its popularity with the public. Also, it is entirely possible that the reviews changed their standard with evaluating movies so a movie that received higher positive reviews doesn't necessarily suggest it's better then the ones last year.

Additionally, the director says that more money should be allocated to reaching the public through advertising in order to raise the number of people watching their movies. However, other factors may also contribute to the decrease of people watching it. For example, there might be better sources for the public to entertain themselves other than movies. Or the economy is poor that people can't afford the tickets.

In conclusion, without answering the questions mentioned above, it cannot be said that the recommendations and arguments are sound.