The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Whilst a competitive nature is an important trait of a good leader, cooperation is an essential trait of humanity's success. It is what separates us from the rest of the animal kingdom, and is what allows us, as humans, to succeed in so many realms where lesser species have failed.

The ability to cooperate is a unique aspect of human life. Think about wild cheetahs, lions, or monkeys. Their social system revolves around fierce competition: for food, shelter and sexual reproduction. In opposition, humans have evolved to cooperate with each other. This has lead to our species's success in the world. Think about our greatest achievements to-date: the moon landing, our many marvels of modern medicine, or the feat of engineering that is modern transport. These are all the result of remarkable cooperation of many hundreds of humans. Lets take the iPhone as an example. This is a creation that has transformed human lives in not just the social realm, but our ability to work and produce. The iPhone is the result of extreme collaboration. This is evidenced by the fact that there is not one person who would be able to comprehend the blueprint of an iPhone, much less build it. Indeed, it is likely that not one person is able to create the micro chip that is found within an iPhone, due to the complexity of the engineering. These amazing inventions require the brain power of not one, but many humans. They require a collaborative approach. Furthermore, they require cooperation.

Many argue that competition is required to be a good leader. This is a truism: a competitive nature is necessary to succeed in life. However, most individuals are instilled with a sense of competition from birth. We may look to the apes that we have evolved from for evidence of this competitve nature. A more difficult and complex trait to learn is a sense of cooperation.

But why is cooperation beneficial for a leader, specifically? Yes, humans create the best produce when they cooperate. But must a leader be cooperative? I argue that yes, a leader must have a determined sense of cooperation. If we look to government systems that have been run by fierce competitors, it is easy to recognise the destruction ultra competitive leaders cause. A leader with a innately competitive nature will breed a culture of secrecy: competition begets competition, and when every person within a team is competiting (be it a governemnt, industry or scientific team) they will be unwilling to share their secrets, in an attempt to showcase themselves as the best, the brightest and the most productive team leader. Yet, none of the greatest feats of humanity have been created from a well kept secret. As mentioned previously, most of humanity's amazing creations have been the result of intense cooperation.

In sum, a competitive nature is an important aspect of being a human, it creates the drive to improve, create and innovate. However, humanity is evolutionary prone to competition. What separates us from other species, and what has enabled humanity to succeed, is our ability to cooperate. This is evidenced by our greatest innovations: they have all been the result of great cooperation. As leaders define the culture within a team, a leader must be instilled with a sense of cooperation. A cooperative leader will create a cooperative team, and a cooperative team is best placed to produce outstanding work.