Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate—and, perhaps, even cruel—to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Whilst art is an important part of life, governments should prioritise their citizens’ welfare over the funding of art. Not only because a human’s welfare is more important than another citizens’ artistic output, but because government funding of the arts does not necessarily lead to greater works of art.

Whilst the creation of art and the wonder of artistic expression is an important aspect of humanity, art does not require government funds. If we look to times of amazing artistic revolution, they have not necessarily occurred during times of great prosperity, or floundered during times of financial dire. For example, the great depression gave rise to realist photography in the United States of America and the United Kingdom, the works of which are still displayed today. This required no government funding. Indeed, some of the countries that currently have the highest government funding for the arts (Netherlands, Australia etc.) do not necessarily produce greater works of art compared to those countries with less government funding (e.g. the U.S). Essentially, art has always been a part of human life; in all countries throughout most of time art has been created. If there is no evidence to suggest that further funding creates ‘better’ pieces of work, then why provide unnecessary funding of the arts?

It may be true that governments should provide funding to the arts on the off-chance that it might produce greater pieces of work. However, this would only be true if the basic needs of a society’s citizens were all met. If there is spare money to throw around, then why not throw it the arts? Unfortunately, most societies today have not met the needs of all of their citizens. Often, citizens remain homeless, unemployed or simply struggle to put food on the table. If we look to Maslow’s hierarchy of needs (a renowned psychologist from the 1950’s) we see that the most essential human needs are safety, food and shelter. Only after receiving these needs are we able to produce great works of art, or enjoy the fruit of an artist’s labour. Thus, it is more important to satisfy these needs for all citizens, rather than provide unnecessary funding to the arts that may not even increase the quality of art output.

Lastly, we see in countries with low government funding for the arts (e.g. the U.S) that private collectors or wealthy citizens are more likely to donate their money to artistic causes. However, in countries with high government funding for the arts (e.g. Australia), wealthy citizens are less inclined to fund the arts, as they are aware that there is no need. Thus, not only is government funding for the arts unnecessary, but it disincentives other forms of arts-funding. Again, this confirms that whilst there are citizens in need of welfare, funding should be provided to them over the arts.

Whilst art is an important aspect of life, it does not require funding. Throughout humanities existence art has always been created, even when government funding of the arts has been non-existent. This makes the funding of the arts an unnecessary expense, especially when citizens are in dire need of this funding to meet their basic needs regarding safety, food and shelter. Indeed, research has shown that the arts remains funded by wealthy citizens when governments do not provide funding. Thus, nations should suspend their funding of the arts when their citizens are hungry are employed because it is unnecessary and even potentially harmful.