The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or in any other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The topic raises the inflammatory question of whether cooperation or competition is necessary in government, industrial or other fields for the upliftment of the society as a whole. Indisputably, competition is essential upto a certain stage to filter the more desirable candidates for a concerned field, nevertheless, when it comes the doing the actual jobs, cooperation proves to be a convivial state and prevails over competition for the development of the society. Thus, I would in general agree with the statement that by instilling a feeling of cooperation will pave the way for the betterment of the society.

First and foremost, cooperation is always essential in any field one can think of. For instance, after getting a Medical degree, doctors are required to act as residential doctors, assisting other surgeons before they can get the license for performing surgery by themselves. Even when they are acting as a residency, they are in a highly competitive environment because only a few get the chance of becoming a surgeon. Inspite of the prevalent competition, doctors ought to be cooperative with one another or else it might led to some horrendous implications in surgery.

In highly byzantine jobs such as governmental organizations, the function of a good government depends solely on the level of cooperation that is prevalent among the governmental authorities. When a Professor gets a Nobel prize, it is not solely due to his efforts but the effort of the whole group that plays the role of doing extensive research and thereby securing a Novel prize. If their is no sense of cooperation among different classes of the society, there will be no leader.

Admittedly, competition is essential upto a certain extent, say upto the college level. An individual needs to prove himself or herself by passing through a series of competitive exams before getting into a high ranking job. Competition in other words is a way of filter that is essential to collect most desirable candidates of the society. However, when it comes to leadership, cooperation is the more desirable norm. Even a President cannot function properly if there is no cooperation between him and governmetal staffs.

In conclusion, due to the numerous advantages of cooperation over competition, I feel that cooperation is more essential for the development of the society. And hence it is of utmost importance to instill a sense of cooperation not competition among the younger generations of the society.