The right path of self-knowledge is the rejection of familiar

The issue presents a statement that recommends that the first step to self knowledge is the rejection of the familiar, i.e in the path of acquiring self knowledge we need to expurgate the already known familiar knowledge. Self-knowledge means enlightment about own's sensation, believes and other mental states. The more you acquire knowledge about yourself the more effective you become when it comes to take certain crucial steps in life.Indisputably, it is important to some extent to relinquish the familiar knowledge, nevertheless it is not absolutely essential. I would thus, in general, disagree with the recommendation provided .

I feel that one can only gain true self knowledge by being very much aware of the familiar knowledge. For instance, a child can be very extremely maladroit in nature but when he faces the challenges of life which demands him to become more and more active, he can only do so by changing his clumsy ways. When subjected to change it demands one to have certain amount of knowledge as to why he needs to change,i.e he should have a familiar knowledge about one's self.

Admittedly, there are some opinions that intimate the advantages of rejecting familiar knowledge. For instance, Gautama Buddha popularly known as lord Buddha, the founder of Buddhism stated that one can only acquire true knowledge about one's self when he or she as omitted the previously acquired knowledge which in turn will pave the way for divine enlightment. Buddha was a prince who during the initial stages of life didn't get any exposure to the macabre of death. When he was introduced to witness the horrors of death, he began practicing self denial and went on to seek enlightenment about the cycle of life and death. It was then he taught people that seeking self knowledge demands rejection of the familiar ones. If he hadn't denied his lavish life of a prince, he wouldn't have understand the true meaning of life.

In conclusion, despite of having certain degrees of advantages of relinquishing familiar knowledge, I tend to think contrary to the recommendation provided,i.e the first step to self-knowledge is not the rejection of familiar knowledge but to well aware of the knowledge he or she is familiar about and then acquire the knowledge about own's sentation or mental states.