It is more important for students to understand ideas and concept than it is for them to learn the facts

The issue raises an inflammatory question as to what is more important for a student, whether understanding the ideas and concepts related to a topic or to learn the facts. Indisputably, there are some benefits of confining only to the facts, but nevertheless, it is always more important to learn the idea and concepts which lays the foundation of the topic. Thus I would, in general agree with the assertion made in the issue that understanding the ideas and concepts are of utmost importance and also would like to lay more stress into the fact that one should always appreciate the efforts taken to develop a subject rather than just confining oneself to gather the topic in jest.

First and foremost, learning the ideas and concept can go a long way. For instance, subjects like physics, chemistry requires one to understand the idea and the concepts thoroughly. There are simply too many facts to memorize which is an uphill task, but if you can understand the concepts, it is more likely that you can derive everything from root. Also students should also appreciate the idea that laid the foundation of a certain idea. This will instill a feeling of motivation in them and may even galvanize them to lay the foundation of another more promising field.

Also, when one chooses to do research in any of subjects, it is almost inevitable that one should know all the ideas and concepts thoroughly because it comes handy at every step. For instance, I am chemistry student who is pursuing research in physical Chemistry which deals with absorption and emission of molecules. But, for that matter, I also need to synthesize the molecule in the first place which requires a basic understanding of organic chemistry as well. If I confined myself to learn only the facts and not the ideas and concepts related to organic chemistry, my research would go in vain.

Learning only the facts is to some extent beneficial and proves advantageous in competitive exams but even if you manage to clear an exam by learning only the facts, and get admitted into a prestigious university, it will in all likelihood result in failure in the long run. Since getting into a university is one thing and surviving the journey is another. And if you do not have a certain degree of grasp over the fundamentals from the very rudimentary years it will be an exasperating task to survive in that university.

Thus, I think that students should lay more stress into learning the ideas and concepts rather than learning only the facts.