The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In our society, the population of young people is comparatively higher than other ages. These young people, if trained or developed properly can help to improve the economic conditions of their respective country, or the respective place where they work. Here the author raises an issue that, it is best for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling them a sense of cooperation, not competition. some people might agree with this issue, and some people might renounce this issue. I generally feel, that young people has to be inured to comptetion in their respective fields to excel.

Firstly, in case of politics or government, pundits say that experience is very much essential to survive, they so because experience will make them more inure to competition and pressure. so if a young candidate contests in election, he or she must be able to face and survive the competition or criticism by the opposition parties. In democratic country like India where there are many parties, a unfledged or young candidate must be able face the competition from other opposition parties. so, in this case I feel that an ability to face competition is more crucial than cooperation.

also, in industrial sectors, it is important for a young callow individual be able to survive harsh criticism or competition from other industrial companies. For example an individual leading a team in an it company, must be able to commensurate with the competition, and must be abreast with the latest technologies to survive in that industry. if that individual fails to or unable to tolerate competition, then that individual will not be able to guide his team members properly which might lead to loss for the company where the individual is working.

However, along with competition an individual or a leader must also have a capability or ability to work along with the other colleagues in a way that produces productive results. For instance, as provided in the above government example, an individual contesting in election must also have capability to work with his other party members, to produce an effective results.

To sum up or conclude, for young people, to survive in any industry he or she must be able to face competition, to survive and excel in that field. However, along with competition, it is also important for the individual to cooperate with his colleagues or team members to produce an effective result.