The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The flourishment or development of a society is commensurate to the ideologies and qualities that its young people possess. The young, budding generations are the innovators who contribute to the society and instilling in them the correct qualities is a step ahead in making the society a better place to live in. It is very difficult for an individual to inculcate qualities as an adult or in a later part of life. As we humans grow up, we tend to become more ossified and are reluctant to any changes in ourselves and hence, it is of utmost importance that a society must prepare its youngsters itself who are capable of any change by instilling in them all the qualities that need to be possessed for fruitful leadership, be it in any sector or field. The argument includes a few of those qualities which include a sense of cooperation and competition. The coming paragraphs will explain how possessing each of these will help the young generation prosper in a more efficient way.

Cooperation amongst the individuals is of primary importance for any government or industry or rather any other fields. A harmonious environment is very essential for its workers to produce efficacious results and having cooperation amongst them is a necessity for the same. Without cooperation, the workers are continuously in a state of incongruity and hence are of no use to both the workplace as well as the society. For example, in a student body organization of an esteemed university, there is a lot of acrimony between the two superior officials affiliated with the organization. Their unwillingness to cooperate with each other in turn affects the students' performances and as a whole affects the institution. Hence, it is very essential for people to understand the importance of cooperation when working as a team and a dogmatic approach to any problem will not result in a fruitful solution.

Although it is very discernible that competition can subtly inculcate rivalry between the people, it is of utmost importance to have competition for faster success and growth. Anything in the right proportions will not be deleterious and so, is competition. If, competition is inculcated in young generations in terms of rivalry or to rebuke the opposing organization, it, in turn, has a negative effect on the development of society. However, if younger generations are taught about the positive effects competition can bring about, it will ignite a driving force in them which is essential to be maintained to achieve success in any field.

Competition is essential to set targets or to set bars for people to achieve in their endeavours. Rather than begrudging someone who is already in the apex, one must seek it as a source of inspiration to reach to the summit and in the meanwhile contribute in various beneficial ways to the society. For example, the positive competition between developing countries such as India and developed countries such as USA is what galvanizes India in bringing about various developing technologies and amendments that has led them to a closer position in becoming a developed country. However, it must be ensured that the sense of competition must exist along with cordial relations rather than envious ones for better progress of the society.

Therefore, even if competition hints about a sense of rivalry, it is very necessary to have a competing environment for the progress along with cooperation amongst the work force. Hence, it is very essential to shape our younger generations with these qualities right from their fledgling levels to ensure that the true intent of these reach to them and in turn helps in making our planet a better place to live in.