The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Leadership is a quality which instills in a person, the sense of responsibility and the quality of being a team player. The first and the foremost thing which a person should contain to be entitled as a team player is the quality of mixing with his team before working with them. This is necessary because, by basic human instinct, if a person doesn't like another person, there is a very high probability that his views regarding the detested person will be biased and being biased is not what a leader should be.

But it is implied that such situation is a very ideal one and practically there may exist a modicum of ill-feelings among the team. Thus, a person who gets along with everyone and at the same time keeps his ill-feelings aside while mingling in a group, is what should be expected from a leader. This leader's foremost duty is to maintain peace in his team even though some people may not get along very well. In such a situation, it is the leader's duty to imbibe in his team's minds the sense of respect they should carry for their team mates when it comes to work.

Suppose in a company, if a team is selected to give a presentation on their project to an international client, and this team comprises of people from the human resources department, the technical department, the marketing department and the finance department. These people are skilled in their individual domains and have never worked together before.Also, they tend to have different approaches to solve the problem at hand. The marketing department insist on going for a very ostentatious display of their company and their products in order to impress the client, thus choosing a very "marketing" approach. The technical team points out that the said client have never indulged in this field and thus for selling the product they need to assure that this company is not only all talk. On this, the finance department makes them realize that a tawdry display will only empty the company's pockets for no reason as the company is not interested in the outer appearance. In such a scenario, the leader should not only consider all the points of conflict, but also ensure that the right decision should be taken as if the presentation fails, its will only result in a blame game among all the departments.

Thus cooperation is a very important aspect that should be instilled by the leader; but not at the cost of competition. A sense of competition can actually have a profitable outcome for any institution as competition not only instills in the members a fire to think better than the others, but also teaches them to appreciate each other by showing sportsmanship.

Competition thus gives rise to creative ideas and out of the box thinking along with a sense of veneration for the other members which is the base of cooperation required in a team.