"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."-Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agre

Both competition and cooperation must exist in balanced and healthy proportions for a society to function at its best. Although, competition apparently brings the best out of people, it doesn't always lead to a healthy uprising. Hence I feel that an instillment of cooperation, not competition would prepare a society's young people for leadership in various fields.

Cooperation, coordination, and expansiveness are some of the quintessential qualities a great leader must possess. It is only through these qualities, a leader can be able to communicate and socialize with his sub-ordinates. An amiable leader would be preferred more than an antagonizing tyrant. Only through well-developed coordination and communication, the problems of a society or an industry could be well addressed. For instance, Mahatma Gandhi, the father of the nation of India, is looked upon by many as a great leader with spectacular cooperation. During the time of independence of India, there were many leaders who strived hard for freedom in different parts of the country. But, in the end, it was Mahatma Gandhi who brought all the leaders together to make way for a unified independence struggle, which ultimately turned out to be a success.

Competition, on the other hand, though it tries to bring the best out of an individual, does not necessarily bode well for the long term functioning of a society. A bunch of highly productive individuals without any qualities of cooperation can never work together in an amicable fashion. Competition if not healthy might also create divisions amongst the people of the society or a workplace. We have all heard of this famous quote: "The united we stand, the divided we fall". People of a society can stand united only if a sense of cooperation exists among its people. There were many instances in the history where competition has led to discord among society. The two worlds wars serve as the best example of the above, with many superpowers all around the world fighting for resources and wealth. This has led to large scale destruction and warfare.

All though unhealthy competition isn't favorable in any circumstances, a healthy form of competition with a sense of cooperation would always try to bring the best out the society. The whole concept of free-market economy works because of competition, as only through competition, different companies and individuals can produce and deliver high-quality goods.

To conclude, A healthy competition with a blend of cooperation and sociability would serve as the best mechanism for a society to function at its best and as well prepare its younger generations to take the responsibilities of leadership in the future.