"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo provided in the passage states that even though, the movies are being well received by critics, the same is not the case with the general audience. So, it is decided that they should allocate a greater share of their budget to advertise their films. In my opinion, for this recommendation to be valid, a few questions should be answered first.

Firstly, the passage does not provide any information regarding the type/genre of movies, Super Screen movies produce. Because, there are some movies by directors like Quentin Tarantino, which received critical acclaim, but did not reach the hearts of the audience. It is a general observation that the majority of the audience come to theatres for entertainment rather than learning from the movies. In this case, the audience might be aware of the reviews given to the movie. So, if the genre of the movies they produced in the last year is specified, then a more accurate estimate regarding the reach can be obtained.

Secondly, the passage does not provide information regarding the reviews given to superscreen movies in the preceding years. The drops in viewership can also be due to the sustained decline in the production values and quality of Superscreen movies over the years. The disappointment caused to the audience by the production house over many years cannot be erased in a year. So, if the information is provided, we can estimate the feelings of the audience towards the production house.

Continuing, the passage does not address the economic situation prevailing in its operating region in the past year. So, if the majority of the population are finding it hard to acquire basic amenities like food, education, employment, etc.., naturally the profits made by the films go down the hill. It happens because people tend to restrain their urge for entertainment in those trying times. So, the relevant economic data should be provided to estimate whether people are deliberately avoiding the movies or they are forced to do so by their economic situation.