The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. The statement says that a society should prepare its young people for leadership by creating a sense of cooperation , not competition.

The speaker believes that the best way to prepare society's young people for leardership in government, industry or other fields is by installing in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. I concede that today's youth requires the sense of cooperation more rather than competition, however, the author made this argument too narrow by suggesting only 'cooperation' is needed. I believe that young people should have a sense of coopertaion but also requires healthy competition to thrive among the fields like government and industry, etc.

First of all, consider the leadership in government field. In politics and government, one must consider their opponents point of views on particular matter rather than dismissing it just because it's offered by opponents. As we know, in democratic government, people's well-being, health-care and security are the main concerns one must look into. Consider current on-going situation, coronavirus pandemic, the only thing our world requires is 'cooperation' among every country. In this kind of situation, if we think to compete with other country then we may get better financially but we surely lose humanity. Therefore, we must prepare our youth to have a profound sense of coorperation, so when they became the part of the government, they can pursue this world to achieve "peace" even with having nuclear power-a weapon of mass destruction.

Secondly, in business industries, I believe cooperation is required with healthy competition. For example, when Samsung has published smart phones, many company followed its air and start building smart-phones. When Apple launched its first iPhone, no doubt Samsung got an healthy competition and it market value did afffected by new lauches of smart-phones. Nevertheless, Samsung lanched another smart phone with more diffrent features to make this competition harder, and this goes on till today. However, it is an irony that Samsung provides the chips Apple used to build iPhones. Yes, that the best example of two competitors supporting each other in this Industry.

And the last, as we know we are facing ozone layer destruction and global warming, we must participate together to save our only planet with humans. To do this we all require each others cooperation, not competition. By cooperation, we can overcome the threat of globle warming, and what's the best achievement than stopping our own extinction. Thus, I believe, the author's point has important merit.

In the final analysis, in any field, our youth must understand the diffrent between competition and cooperation. And looking on today's world, we must work with each other to thrive. I believe that we will conquer the battle against this pandemic soon with the cooperation amaong all the countries.