The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The author in the letter talks about the tufted groundhog which would become extinct because of the local development interests requests for access to building a road along the edges of the wetlands. In addition to this, the author also draws a comparison between the neighboring Eastern Carpenteria and West Lansburg taking into account how the decline caused in its sea otter population since the repeal of its sanctuary status and how it would likewise affect the West Lansburg sanctuary by building the road along the edge of wetlands. In this era of 'Go-Green', a first look at the argument seems convincing to aver the permission to build the road must not be granted. However, as we dig deep into the topic, we discover that the argument is based on listless evidence and lacks point to put forth its claim.

Firstly, the date of the article has not been mentioned, and also the author is anonymous. Along with that, the credibility of the West Lansburg Newspaper is also lacking. The reason why the above stats are essential is that the argument is referring to a huge span of time ranging from 1978 to 2004 and a few more years which is approximately around 25 to 30 years. As a result, the above information is necessary to process the claim further.

Furthermore, the author drawing parallels with the neighboring sanctuary of Eastern Carpenteria is quite absurd. The decline of the sea otter population in the neighboring Eastern Carpenteria having a 'similar' sanctuary has been stated as the reason. How does the decline in the sea otter population relate to the decline in the number of tufted groundhogs? Also, the word 'similar' doesn't mean an 'exact' replica of the West Lansburg sanctuary. Thus, the argument is relying on correlations and not concrete facts.

Moreover, the author does not provide any pieces of evidence to the decline in the number of groundhogs nor that of the sea otter. The reduction of sea otters and repealing of the sanctuary status in 1978 might also turn out to be coincident. As a result, the author cannot draw conclusions based on just comparisons.

Finally, the reason behind the construction of the road along the edge of the wetlands is absent. The author must have mentioned the reason behind the construction of the roads to bolster his claim of denying permission. On the contrary, the road can also turn out to be useful in maintaining the wetlands, for regular cleaning and monitoring purpose, etc. Thus due to the overstated flaws, the argument seems to be ill-founded. However had the author mentioned the above statistics and points, then the argument would have been infallible. But as of now, the authenticity of the argument falls flat due to the insufficiency of the data provided.