The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

The author of the editorial talks about the increased enrollment in nearby Omni University due to the introduction of online degree programs. The author further states that to increase enrollment and solve the budget deficiencies a similar program at Humana University must also be initialized. In my opinion, the author's argument lies on unsubstantiated assumptions and is unpersuasive as it stands due to the following reasons.

Firstly, the author states that the online programs offered by Omni University have led to a 50 percent increase in its enrollment. In my view, the 50 percent increase should not be attributed to only one reason i.e online programs. Maybe a few improvements collectively have led to a 50 percent increase. There may be an up-gradation of facilities, labs, improved infrastructure, and the introduction of proficient and experienced professors that may have led to a surge in enrollment. Furthermore, it may have been possible that the university did not have much popularity previously, and now because of the improved features, it had drawn many peoples' eyes.

Moreover, the author claims that Omni University showed a significant decrease in the expenditures for dormitory and classroom space due to the introduction of online teaching which takes place through the Internet. But this could not be the only reason for their reduced expenditure. Nowadays, most students prefer to stay off-campus due to the strict restrictions imposed by the universties. This may have led to low occupancy of dormitories resulting in a low electricity bill which in turn saves a lot of money. Also, it is quite possible that Omni University was spending extravagantly in the previous years, only now realizing that and reducing their expenditures.

Finally, the author states that if Humana University also followed such an approach it would increase their enrollment and solve their problem of budget deficits. This assumption of the author is purely presumptuous and lacks mettle. Had the author, given evidence of any survey suggesting that the students prefer online studies in comparison to campus study, it would have bolstered his claims. But to only imitate what other university is doing is pretty absurd.

Therefore, in conclusion, the author's claims are flawed and based on incogent reasons. Had the author kept the above suggestions in mind it would have bolstered the claims. It would also be well-reasoned and more convincing.