The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

From the dawn of time, cooperation - working together towards a common goal - above all has been the catalyst for dramatic change for humanity from exploring the vast expanse of the world we live to tinkering with inventions to improve our lived experience in it. Thus a society that is future-focused and eager to facilitate its progress must establish a generation of youth leaders who value the cooperative spirit over that of competition.

The most compelling feature of cooperation is its ability to expedite the process of whatever plan one is executing. In the sense of government or industry, the system operates more smoothly and speedly when all hands are on deck and they are united in their efforts to achieve one goal. For example, when building a home - architects and contractors must work together efficiently and cohesively to produce a sturdy edifice under a specific timeline. If they do not communicate or rather cooperate effectively, then the timeline for the project will be affected and they may not meet their deadline. They may even produce a inferior product, a house that is not suitable for occupancy or that doesn't meet the criteria requested.This applies to any institution or organization - whatever they may be trying to achieve - whether it is legislation or creation of a product, it is better that they cooperate with all the cogs or people involved working efficiently together to acheive that goal as it will ensure faster completion, less effort and better quality of output.

It could be conceded however that competition can be a driving force as well. In fact, in order to stand out as or become an exemplary leader, young people vying for leadership in the fields they enter would absolutely have to compete with their peers to set themselves a part. Competition has also even been a boon for progress throughout history, wherein the development of many inventions and innovations for humanity were driven by a competitive nature. However still yet those advances would not have been possible without the cooperation of the individuals and their team working on them.

Additionally, just as competition can present advantages, it also has its drawbacks. Competition has expressed itself as some of the most destructive instances and behavior in history and human-kind. Competition has driven war, and competition can lead individuals to behave in ways that are actually harmful to the group. So in that sense, competition may indeed be important, but its disadvantages outweigh its benefits as it could just as likely be detrimental to progress. Thus it is better to instill in youth who will be leading that cooperation and the ability to work together towards a common goal is much more effective for progress, particularly as a society.

Cooperation is the more necessary element to the foundation of a forward-thinking society. It is more likely than competition to provide support and catalyze development and progress.Therefore it is most important that the youth of that society who will be its future leaders truly understand and value a sense of cooperation so that they may incorporate it into their work within each pillar of said society and strengthen it as whole.