Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument supporting the health improvement capabilities of the paleo diet, more specificially bone broth, relies on some key assumptions including anecdotal evidence that consumers of bone brother had fewers diseases, ancient humans knew something about their physiology, and that emulating their diet will confer a cure for illnesses. When considered further, these assumptions may be unwarranted and thus significantly undermine the presented argument.

The first unwarranted assumption relates to the anecdotal evidence wherein people who consumed bone broth for health purposes presented fewer make practice other health behaviors that contribute to them have less metabolic and inflammatory diseases. Anecdotal evidence often cannot be generalized, and correlation does not equal causation. Without scientific research, anecdotal evidence alone does not provide any information or account for the life style of bone broth consumers vs. those who did not thus . There might be other variables involved such as different diets, exercise regiments, and overall health consciousness of an individual who consumes bone broth in comparison to one who does not.

Another unwarranted assumption the argument makes is that ancient humans somehow knew about their physiology enough to know that bone broth was beneficial health-wise. Ancient humans did not have the explicit and abundant knowledge that we today do about the processes of our body and how to exact improving change on it. Additionally, it could be likely that ancient humans simply made do with what they had, they prepared bone broth as it was a way to use every part of the animal. Thus it is highly unlikely they were thoughtful enough in their decision to consume broth as they would not have had the knowledge or capabilities to discern it benefits or lack thereof.

The argument then further claimed that emulating the way ancient humans ate could result in curing many chronic illnesses. This claim would need to be backed by robust evidence that bone broth has been able to cure multiple chronic illnesses. However, as it is presented without any scientific evidence indicating that bone broth has been able to cure an actual chronic illness, or multiple at that it is clear this assumptionis unwarranted. Furthermore, even if a scientific study were conducted it could potentially conclude that bone broth has no significant impact on health outcomes in individuals with chronic illness which would greatly undermine the argument's statement.

Thus the argument would need to offer additional evidence-based research, and elaborate on or possibly even remove some of these assumptions in order to have any validity.