The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument presented by Super Screen's marketing department claims that the company should invest more into advertising on the basis that consumers are not turning out to view their movies simply because they are not aware of their quality. However, that conclusion is not supported by evidence that directly indicates consumers are unaware of Super Screen's quality.

Super Screen's marketing department must address other variables that may have led movie-goers to attend less of their movies. People may have based their decision on what movie to watch on several different factors. For instance, one of the most important being the genre of movie. Thus Super Screen must first note the variety of movie genres they produce and ascertain the popularity of said genres. If Super Screen mostly produces movies in genres that are unpopular then that would naturally lead to lower turnouts but due to the content rather than the quality of their movies.

Additionally, it could follow that positive reviews they receive could be based on a certain sub-set of people who particularly enjoy whatever niche genre the company may most produce for. The opinions of those individuals would hold most stock with others who are like-minded or also enjoyers of that same genre. It would not be of any value to the majority of people outside of that sub-set or who have no interest in those genres of movie.

The marketing department also makes the assumption that the cause for less people attending the company's movies is connected to the positive reviews not reaching enough of their prospective viewers. It is important to support this with potentially a survey of movie-goers asking whether they have heard of Super Screen-produced movies and if so, what they have heard. The response there could either greatly support the department's claim or indicate that it is a baseless assumption.

Furthermore, it could also not be a matter of putting more advertising dollars in but rather choosing more wisely where the department puts that money. They should consider where the reviews are hosted for their movies - are they on a popular and trusted site frequented by many movie-goers when deciding what movie to watch? Or are they simply individual blogs or less reputable sources that people are unlikely to go to for opinions on what movies they should watch? If the reviews are actually on a popular site that many prospective viewers already visit then it in fact would be unlikely that they didn't know about the quality of Super Screen's movies but rather that despite seeing positive reviews they were not compelled to view them as they may have other interests or criteria that they consider when watching a movie.

Thus Super Screen's marketing department must address these factors and have them actually provide support for their claim in order for it to be valid and thus an advisable course of action that will actually benefit Super Screen.