The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition

The given statement tells us that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling them a sense of cooperation, not competition. This comes across as an overt generalization in which certain words have been used indiscriminately which significantly hampers the efficacy of the statement. The issue becomes extrapolative and subjective in nature as to why as a reader one can't agree with the sentiment expressed.

Firstly, the use of the word best way is problematic here. This claim doesn't draw any parallel comparison to an incident where instilling a sense of cooperation helped to prepare great leaders or doesn't provide any evidence in support of the claim that how instilling a sense of cooperation in young people is the best way. It could work for some people but not for everybody in general.

Additionally, cooperation plays an important role in the growth of young people. Cooperation helps to develop the understanding between the team and its leader but competition is what prepares young people for leadership in government, industry, or any other fields.

Furthermore, competition is what pushes an individual to perform better. A leader is someone who needs to be cooperative but a competitive spirit is what is required to become a great leader. If a leader is not competitive he will not be able to take his team to reach greater heights or motivate its members to keep performing better and better.

Thus, we can conclude that by ignoring so many important factors which are important for the assessment of the issue holistically, the issue becomes redundant in nature. On purely logical grounds, we can't agree with the sentiment expressed.