The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Throughout history, major breakthroughs that we bear the fruits of today have been achieved through collaboration, visionary leadership and cooperation. It is a huge part of achieving success in a task that requires the expertise of more than one person. The prompt claims that the best way to prepare to prepare young people for society and jobs is to expose them to the ideas of cooperation rather than competition, and while healthy competition is an important factor in keeping individuals motivated, I tend to mostly agree with the prompt due to the following reasons.

Firstly, when working in an organization that requires multiple people working together to achieve a certain goal or to complete even a trivial task, communication and harmony are key to success. Every person in a particular organization is chosen for a specific task and they all work together like parts of a machine, and when one piece falters, the whole system gets disrupted. For example, let us consider a team sport such as soccer, eleven players represent a team, and unless all players are in communication and cooperate with each other, the team cannot function effectively. If one player were to seek personal glory, that would be unwise and detrimental to the whole team. Similarly, when we apply this example to industries or organizations, if a person were to compete within the organization, the primary goal may be compromised. A cooperative attitude, if instilled while a person is young, can work effectively as they are most likely to learn and adopt ideas while at that age.

Secondly, a person in a leadership position is there to lead the team, to distribute work appropriately, and to inspire them, not to compete or to prove themselves to be better. A study conducted by McStudy has revealed that competitive leaders are much more likely to shut down ideas given by team members and to align to their own ideas. This is not surprising, as competitive people tend to want their own ideas to triumph as that gives them glory.

On the contrary, some might argue that instilling a competitive spirit may work effectively too, as competition inspires people to do better and to work harder. Without competition, the stakes may not be as high. This point would certainly be valid, as healthy amounts of competition can lead to a more motivated society, with the will to push further and be better, thus leading to innovative breakthroughs.

In conclusion, this is a very grey area and not as binary as it may seem. Cooperation is important for the effective functioning of a society, but so is competition when in healthy amounts. As people get older, they become more stubborn to ideas other than what they believe in, hence what young people are taught has a significant bearing on what they go on to become, and instilling a sense of cooperation is imperative for a non-toxic, efficient society.