According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The advertising director claims that fewer people attended their production company's movies, and the reasons cited focus on a lack of effective advertisements. The advertising director makes these claims based on insufficient evidence and has assumed a lot of information to be true, and needs to answer the following questions.

First of all, the advertising director claims that specific movies received positive reviews from movie reviewers, but do these reviews represent the sentiment of reviewers for all the movies produced by that company during that year? Maybe or maybe not. While a specific number of movies may have received positive reviews, it may so be that the rest of the company's movies received terrible reviews, thus discouraging people from watching them. The advertising director assumes that the trend for a select few movies represents the trend for the rest of the movies, and should provide more data to prove his claim.

Secondly, even if the above point is neglected, there is another question that needs to be answered, mainly, does the advertising manager account for movies released by different production companies? It may so be that other production companies stepped their game up and released good movies that people were attracted to, and that advertising was not a contributor to this trend. The advertising director does not provide enough data about the trends for movies released by different production companies, and assumes that data not to bear any significance, when in fact it plays a huge role in how many people watch his company's movies.

Thirdly, does the advertising director account for the trend of movie-goers per year? Perhaps, the entire trend of people attending movies indicates that fewer people are attending movies every year. For example, with the rise streaming services, many poeple are inlcined to the idea of watching movies from the comfort of their homes. Unless the director proves that this downward trend of people attending movies is untrue with data, it remains a question unanswered.

In conclusion, the advertising director assumes a lot of information and concludes his statement based on conditions assumed to be true. Unless he were to provide more data to back his decisions, it remains a flawed one.