The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The youth of today play a vital role in the enhancement of an organization, nation or society as a whole. Eventually, these young minds will take up leadership positions in these mutlple facets of life. Therefore, it is important that we imbie the right virtues in them at a nascent age so that is beneficial for their careers and surroundings. The prompt states that in order to mold its young people for leadership in varied walks of life like government or industry, society should instill them with the idea of cooperation and not one of constant competition. I mostly agree with the prompt that in the long run, a cooperative outlook towards work is beneficial due the following reasons.

To begin, in our constantly evloving 21st century, the singular defination of work has become unclear. Professions have become multi-faceted, needing expertise and acumen from varied fields. It is not like the earlier days where people used to just report to their workplaces, perform their assigned jobs in silos and return back, continuing this monotonous cycle. Today, all walks of life like industry or government are merging into one another. For example, let us take running a multinational bank of example. The workforce in such a modern bank today requires contributions from finance professionals, software engineers, human resources, legal experts, architect and design people; this list can keep expanding. But by this example, we can understand that to achieve success in such a large organization, there has to be cooperation between its distinct fields. Similat pattern can also be seen in running a government. Apart from the apex cabinet, ministers are divided into multiple portfolios like health, welfare, education, energy, finance. Therefore, to run such large insitutions by being a CEO or a Prime Minister of a country, requires cooperation and unity among different verticals.

In addition to the diverse work today, the sheer amount of effort required in today's age has also drastically increased. Even if an individual performs at 100 percent efficiency(which scientifically is impossible) and is an erufite every fathomable field, he or she cannot work in silos, as to achieve a particular target, it will take ages and is impractical. For instance, we can look at the field of scientific research. Reasearch scholars have brilliant ideas to expand their knowledge and thereby proliferating their knowledge to humanity. But they cannot keep ther work to themselves. For example, the recent scientific breakthrough of deciphering the first image of a black-hole, was a singualr idea in a scholar called Katie Bumman. If she wanted, she could work on it herslef and garner all the accolades individually. But apart from such a quixotic idea, researchers gathered their knowledge and under her leadership, she is now a noble laurreate. Therefore, with the unfathomable quanta of effort required to accquire goals, cooperation is the best way to make this achieveable.

But someone might argue that even competition is an important aspect in a person's growth, otherwise someone might become complacent. I agree that competiotion is paramount to provide an indiviual with the constant drive to achieve more in life. But, there is also a negative aspect of competition which is more prevalent. Due to sheer competiton in today's fields, candidates striving for any leadership position, it order to make the cut, tend to resort to unfair and immoral means. This eventually can be detrimental to the same person. Also, excessive competition results in peer pressure, declining mental health and ultimatley lead a frustrated person to take an illogical step like suicide.