People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

We as humans are presented with varied number of choices at every step in our day to day lives. To pick from either of these choices, we need to take a decision. This decision can be as trivial as whether to take the metro or drive to work, or as pivotal as taking a call to perform euthanasia on your loved one. Mainly these decisions we take are driven by two primary factors - logic and emotion. The prompt given states that those who take a rash decision driven by emotions and then try to reason their way out with logic, are poor decision makers. I mostly agree with the prompt for the below reasons.

Firstly, there are many encounters that we have in life where our decisions are irreversible. Once we have made that final call, there is no turning back. While taking such pivotal judgements, it is important to be dispassionate and think with logic first. We have to consider all possible scenarios which may lead to regret later. For example, in an event of war, the governments of nations have to take a decision whether to charge on their enemy or not. Or the life or death calls that surgeons have to take on the operation table. Such decisions need to be dealt with sheer logic and we cannot surrender to our emotions, as it would lead to an irrevocable catastrophe.

Moreover, making hasty decision and then trying to justify it with shoddy logic is a nature of an escapist. In order to weave out of the consequences of a poor decision, this person will try to concoct a story to try to sound as logical as possible. This going forward becomes a pattern and has adverse effects on a person's personality and character. This builds in an inherent nonchalance, where the individual does not think about the repercussions of his/her own activities. Successful people are born out of commitment to their work and persistence where their pivotal life changing decisions are made using logic and not driven by the whims and fancies of their emotions.

I concede that there might be instances where emotion trumps logic. But it is our responsibility that we remain calm and composed in order to make an objective decision which is critical to us.