‘The primary goal of education is to get a job’

What is education? Just a student reading textbooks and craming information for he or she to be assessed at particular intervals in a process which we call examination? What is the final goal of education? Just landing a job in a dream company? I think education of an individual goes way beyond these basic questions. Therefore, I disagree with the given prompt that the sole purpose of education is to simply procure employment.

Firstly, education is a pivotal part of a human being's personality. It is what defines who he or she truely is. To start with, during our schooling phase, we learn a wide variety of subjects like English language, Geography, History, Mathematics. Even though these subjects might not reflect in our jobs, but a deep and thorough understanding of these basic topics, help us become a more holistic individual and live in an ever-growing society. Then once we reach college, we have to take important decisions of choosing our majors. Taking these key steps in our lives are all a part of the education process and prepare us for the real world that we will face in our near futures. Hence, education is a principle factor in shaping a person's personality and honing his or her values.

Secondly, someone might argue that even if we study and procure an education, it finally boils down to our jobs that we do on a day to day basis. But there is another aspect we are missing here. Jobs are constantly changing. Due to new technological advancements, earlier jobs which used to have massive volume of employees now only have a couple of them that to just for monitoring and reporting purposes. Factory workers, book-keeping accountants and alike are few professions that have been supplanted by their technologically advanced counterparts. Hence, if an individual is just trained and not thoroughly educated to get a particular job, his or her career will never be able to sustain a constantly metamorphizing market.

Lastly, the goal of human existence and survival is to research, to explore and go above and beyond our current understanding of our surroundings. If the greatest minds of our time would have just educated themselves to land a comfortable and secure job, the world as we know it would be completely different. For example, if Albert Einstein would have just continued to work as a patent clerk in a insignificant corner in Germany, we would still be unaware that our universe is constantly expanding and time in not absolute! If S. Ramanujan, the genius mathematician would have just continued with his job in India as a manual calculation clerk, we would not have had the erudite formulas that today help us to understand the begining of our cosmos and singularity of black holes.

Hence, due to the above reasons, I conclude stating that education is a driving force of the cognitive power of our species, and is way more significant than just procuring employment.