"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

Youth, the people in control of the world, be it politics, industry, technology or any other field, has always proved to have immense potential. This is not only right about the contemporary world; rather, youth of all times had competitive advantage over the older generations. Competition, as such, is inherent in all species which make them more competent in the world. Darwin's theory of "Survival of the fittest" corroborates this notion. On the other hand, cooperation has to be taught to people. In the present age, the number of children in each household is decreasing, which starts to build an autocratic sense in children; thereby making them selfish and independent.

It is true that, healthy competition will give a break to the usual trends and give way to breakthroughs and will result in improved consumer experience. For instance, many technological companies have been striving hard to provide the fastest and most reliable browser to the Internet world. Google has Chrome, Mozilla provides Firefox and Apple develops it's own browser. Primarily, when only Internet Explorer was available, there was no hope of improvement; but once the competants entered the market, even Internet Explorer has seen some light of improvement.

In contrast to this, cooperation can improve the economy of the world and the benefits available to the people drastically. This is because, there will be many areas where one company excels while others are dragged down. If all the competitors collaborate and work towards the best in the industry, it will be worth the effort. Considering the aforementioned example, companies Google, Apple, Mozilla and Apple have decided to jointly work to develop the fastest browser. Combining the experience and ideas of all the veterans will, for sure, result in the best product. Similarly, Google has been trying to tie up with mobile carriers around the world to participate in networking. This would help them to unite all the areas. This emphasises the importance and the efforts made by the parties to bring about cooperation among them and their opponents.

However, the drawbacks of encouraging competition is that, it increases corruption and other malpractices. Consider Asian Games or Olympics, which sees the highest level of competition among humans. In those fields, competing minds make them use Opium and other drugs to boost their energy and thereby make them more competant. Also, people might start indulging in crimes to oppose their opponents and make the path clear. This has to be taught to the youth in addition to the benefits of cooperation.

It can be concluded that, competition, if healthy, can result in goodness. But, if it exceeds the limit, it can prove to be fatal. Cooperation, on the other hand, is a healthy choice for the society and needs to be instilled in the youth for leadership in government, industry and other fields as well.