The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

The best way as suggested by the statement to reduce solve the environmental problem is to limit the amount of trash accepted from each household is generally not an effective solution. I disagree with the statement as many important criteria's have been ignored here. Because there is a plethora of other factors through which environmental problems can be tackled.

The consumer generated waste ranges from plastic to organic waste which varies from person to person depending on the eating habits and various other factors.But majorly in current world, most of the products for example tinned food, mobile phones, coke bottles are made from plastics or glass which are not biodegradable. So, even if a consumer tries to buy some stuff which is environmentally friendly like food etc. They are come in plastic containers or tins. Therefore, if the municipal corporations plan to limit the amount of trash that will be accepted from each household, does not quite solve the issue.

These industries which produce for example food, smartphones, earphones, canned food etc. should be monitored and encouraged to produce containers or plastic bags which are biodegradable. Plastic bags play a very major role for the health of environment. If a shop has almost 200 customers in a day and every time a customer buys something from the shop, they get a plastic bag to keep the stuff which they bought. So, for each customer consider 1 or 2 plastic bags per shopping. This makes a total of 400 plastic bags from a single shop per day. Scientist say that for a single plastic bag to decay into environment it takes almost 100 years.Then just imagine the number os plastic bags thrown into garbage around the world. So, the industries must take responsibility by relying on biodegradable materials to pack their products or provide an alternative solution to plastic bags.

To reduce consumer waste, the governing body can pass a law stating that the individuals who shop on regular basis, can only buy products which are wrapped with non-biodegradable products for 15 times a month. For this law to become successful the governing body should also impose strict laws on the industries who produce these non-biodegradable products at a humongous scale. Eventually, then we can see the reduction of consumer waste. Recycling of these waste plastic or non-biodegradable products should be done in order to reduce the number of productions of new non degradable products. Through which an overall decrement of these harmful products is possible.

Hence, to solve environment crisis the way suggested by the statement is not effective. It will only cause more chaos among the individuals. So, there are plethora of other ways through which this problem can be taken care of. These initiatives must be considered by every individual, not only governing bodies.