Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The assertion suggests that some people think physical strength matters for success in sports, while some think it is the mental strength that matters to excel in sports. People can have a diverse opinion on this according to personal experiences.

Physical strength surely matters when it comes to sports. As, when we consider the scenario of outdoor sports like football, cricket, basketball , tennis or even sprinting. The players and athletes require a substantial amount of physical energy or strength to compete in the respective sport and excel. But in addition to this the players must also be mentally aligned and have a strong mental strength to achieve success in sports.

Because in plethora of scenarios during out door sports we see that though a particular player has the required physical strength, but as sports are challenging and every time one may not have the energy to excel in it by only banking on physical strength. As many times during the last seconds of the race or last crucial minutes of a competition of sports the will power or in other words the mental strength plays a very important role to determine your success. As mental power is a kind power which gives one the strength to excel even if the person is lacking the physical prowess.

People who think that only mental power is more important in a sport are also missing the point that in a sport both physical and mental prowess matters. It is never the case that one of them overpowers the other. For instance, consider a athlete who at the start line of the race is already tired or has less physical strength to take part in the race. The result is that person cannot run properly and will probably not even finish the race due to obvious reasons. Though that person may have immense mental strength to excel in the race, but the persons lack of physical strength is constraining his path to achieve success.

Hence people must understand that both strengths discussed here that is physical and mental matters in a sport and none of them can override the other. Therefore I personally feel and also by the above discussed points it is clear that both mental and physical power are the foremost requirement to achieve success and excel at various levels in sports.