The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Environmental problems, no doubt, have been a pressing challenge facing most countries. Appropriate authorities have been saddled with the responsibility of implementing factors that contribute to environmental hazards. The prompt suggests a possible way of addressing problems contributed by consumers in towns and cities; it might not be the best way but a possible approach which is partially agreed.

First, Imposing strict limits on household trash at the point of waste collection, will engender the habit of recycling. Consumers will not think of disposal as the first option, they will rather think about how the waste can be further utilized. For example, Kitchen wastes can be used as manure in gardens; some products of no importance to a particular consumer might be given out to another individual that might be in need of the same product or might even be aggregated and sent to companies that utilize such as raw material for production. This act fosters the consciousness of recycling waste products thereby reducing pollution of the environment.

In addition, most individuals with high disposable income enjoy the luxury of spending money as it so pleases. They purchase things not necessarily out of need but of want. These products someday turn to waste which follows the normal route of removal. Furthermore, placing limits on trash collection regulates the habit of purchase leaving people to purchase important things at the time. For example, a household might have three sets of similar equipment serving the same purpose or maybe overstocking food reserves with no stable source of preservation.

On the other hand, the approach of imposing strict limits might not be the best as it might lead to complexities. For example, what will be the standard limit for each household? How will the limit address households of different sizes and frequency of collection? In conclusion, securing a safe and clean environment is a vital goal for most nations and it starts from little steps which contribute to achieving the major goal.