The following is from a memo from the advertising director of the Super screen Movie Production Company.

According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The argument concludes that Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year in advertising as content of the movie reviews are not reaching prospective viewers. This conclusion is based upon the premise that even though the percentage of positive movie reviews about specific Super Screen increased in past year, fewer people attended the movies produced by the company. However, in order to reach the conclusion, the author takes number of assumptions that he fails to justify.

Firstly, when deciding the budget spending of a company it is really important to consider how optimized is their existing advertisement strategies. As it is completely possible that even within the current budget, they can reach the target audience.

Secondly the author does not take into consideration the psychology behind a typical viewer that drives his/her decision to watch a movie. As it can be a possibiity that there are only a few reviewers that impact the viewers. In such a case even when the percenatge of the positive reviews increased, if the critical ones were negative, it does not make any sense for a viewer to act on any or every review. Also, the author extrapolates the sample space to conclude, wherein if only specific Super Screen movies received a positive review, there can be many that received a greater share of negative reviews. Hence in total fewer people turned out in the theatres.

Finally, the conclusion would also depend on how the industry has performed as a whole. This is because the enterntainment world is run by consumer spending power and notion. The year that is considered in the argument might have had some disruptions or anomalies.

In conclusion, if the author demonstrated that the current advertising strategy is fully optimized, the reviews that were positive were the impactful ones and the industry as whole did not face any downturn, the argument would become considerably stronger. However in its current form, it would not be apporpriate to accept the conclusion.