The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Teaching requires a teacher to look at both ends of the spectrum of a student. Ignoring the negative aspects of a person and glorifying just the positive side of things forces the student to have a one-minded approach. I strongly disagree that the best way of teaching is to just acclaim the positive actions and avert the negations for the following reasons.

The act of differentiating an action as right or wrong has to be instilled in the person from childhood. That form teaching requires a neutral outlook where the good and bad are both considered and an appropriate feedback is given. For example, if a child steals a pencil at a tender age and his mother doesn’t deem fit to berate the child about the theft, the child is bound to never understand that his actions were completely wrong. Moreover, the child is bound to think that what he did was in fact correct and will be encouraged to engross in such activities even more. Years later, he’ll be caught in a major robbery all because he wasn’t taught the act of taking things without consent is considered as stealing. The above example clearly highlights that ignoring negative aspects of a person’s doings eventually leads them to their own doom.

The act of accepting criticism and working on that criticism to eventually be a better self requires not only an open-minded outlook but also an innate ability to be called upon your wrongs. For example, if a from a tender age, you are always lionized for your greats and wonders, but never given a constructive criticism regarding the areas you need to build upon, you’ll never have the mindset of accepting criticism from the outside world. Eventually in a corporate world, when called upon by your supervisor for your mistakes, your mind doesn’t have the ability to accept criticism and this would eventually lead to a brawl between you and him. Such an act could eventually lead to impeding of your position in the company. The above example clearly highlights that if a person isn’t called upon his negations from a tender age, the person always seems to be complacent which is eventually leading to his own turmoil.

Although some might argue that praising the positive actions of the student will improve confidence and their attitude towards the work. But what is this confidence even worth if only praising the positive actions eventually leads the confidence turning into over confidence? Therefore, its in the betterment for the person that the best way to be taught is to have a neutrality towards applauding the positive actions and fulminating on the negative ones as well.