Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Wildlife is an essential and important aspect of a nation. A nation’s wildlife can tell us a lot about the history, culture and the attitude of the nation towards animals. Preserving the remaining wilderness available to the nation in their natural state is not only essential to the surviving species of animals but also it can be beneficial to the country itself. I, therefore, agree that enforcements on preserving the remaining wilderness should be passed for the following reasons.

Wildlife is not something a person gets to see in their daily lives. It is considered as an exotic viewing experience by many. What if a nation could preserve the wilderness and use it for the economic gain? For example, in South Africa, Kruger national park is an open safari destination for animal lovers. The state has preserved the national wilderness as it is and instead built tourist guesthouses and set up different safari companies on the extreme outskirts of the park. By this, the animals are not at all restricted in a cage but instead left to wander in the open and free land. Along with this, the rangers can conduct safaris for the tourists who wish to see these animals in their natural habitat. From the above example, we can see that harmony can be established between wildlife and the economic gain for a country.

Every species in the world is interdependent on one another in some way or the other. Like humans are dependent on plants and animals for our food. Similarly, animals are also dependent plants and other animals for their food. This forms the basis of a food chain. However, this food chain is only applicable when the habitat is where its supposed to be. Consider this, by disrupting a natural wilderness, we are rescinding the animals from their homes, forcing them to a different habitat and at the same time disrupting the very food chain that is essential for their survival. For example, if we destroy the natural vegetation which is a primary food source for cows and many other herbivorous animals, this causes a chain reaction that leads to the reduction in their population. Once their population goes down, many carnivorous animals who are dependent on these animals for food will be devoid of food and as a result, will be considered as endangered. From the above example, it is quite clear that disrupting the natural wilderness leads to the endangering of species.

Of course, the economy is also an essential part of a nation’s growth. But what is the use of this economy if the gain is received by destroying the natural beauty of mother earth. It is therefore in the best interest of the nation that a strict law is enforced in preserving the remaining wilderness in their natural state and at the same time develop ways for the economy by not disrupting the habitat of the animals and instead living in harmony with them.