Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Any major city of a nation is populated by people hustling day and night to earn money and make their ends meet. When the person cannot even sit with his family for a single meal, the habit of preaching god and following one’s cultural traditions doesn’t seem to persist. Due to this, it cannot be said that the cultural traditions are generated, let alone preserved in the nation’s major city. Therefore, I disagree that governments should provide financial support to major cities for the reason of cultural traditions being preserved and generated.

Any major city is populated with people from different forms of backgrounds. Each having their own history and heritage. In an ideal world, any person would like to sit and acknowledge the history of his religion, gain more insights into his cultural traditions and hope to reach them. But in a city, anyone is swayed from that opportunity due to the hackney of daily life. Whereas if we look at the other side of the spectrum, that is, in the rural areas of the country, people manage to live a much peaceful life, free from the hustle and bustle of the city and also engage in social interactions. Festivals that are celebrated in the city ensure a huge gathering of people and act as status symbol disregarding the true meaning behind the rituals. Whereas in villages, people perform rituals with a sense of meaning and motive. They perform the actions with a sense of peace and harmony towards their traditions which were established in their locales and till today preserved. For the above-mentioned reason, I think it’s very clear that Cultural traditions do not have the same essence and meaning in the major cities than the true devotion that they have outside the cities.

If we consider a nation as an entire body, a major city could be considered as its heart and soul. But every heart and soul need a backbone or a spine for optimal support. This support comes from the daily livestock, rations for the people living in the city. In India, about 75% of the food that comes in the major cities is cultivated in farmlands that are located in the fertile areas of the country. The farmers spend years of their lives making sure that crops that they produce and harvest reach the city dwellers. But instead of receiving help from the government, the farmers continue to remain in debt and are forced to either abandon the land and vacate or the farmer chooses to end his life in the pressure of not being able to provide for his family. The government should support the backbone of the nation as much or more than the major city because when this backbone is well supported, the major cities will automatically thrive and so will the nation.

Of course, some could argue that every major city is the main source of economy for the nation to thrive. But how will that source continue to thrive if the main backbone behind that source is not well supported? In conclusion, its best for the nation that the government does not support the nation for the reasons of cultural traditions being preserved and generated as those cultural traditions are likely to be followed for namesake. Instead, they can divide their sources into both the sides of the spectrum (rural as well as urban areas) for the betterment of the Nation.