Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo from the advertising director of the super screen movie production company has decided to allocate a greater share of the company's budget for the advertising of the movies. The evidence he gives for this conclusion is that the movies have been receiving a greater percentage of positive reviews and these reviews are not reaching to the masses thereby creating a lack of awareness. However, a few questions need to be answered to consider that the recommendation is reasonable.

Firstly, the director says fewer people attended the movies last year. Could it be that the number of multiplexes that could broadcast the movies was not enough to cater to the public? It could be that the super screen movies were only shown in select multiplexes with limited show timings. If the show timings weren't compatible with the people, it would automatically refrain the people from watching the movie. Also, if the movies were shown in a lesser number of theatres, it's highly unlikely that people would consider travelling long distances to watch the movies. If the above does hold true, then the recommendation needs to be considered again.

Secondly, what was the pricing of the movies? The director mentions super-screen movies. It is highly unlikely that these movies will be priced at a lower price range catering to all classes of audiences. If the movies are exorbitantly priced, it's an automatic discouragement to the people to watch it. It could be that the movies are priced high to compensate for them being broadcasted at a lesser number of theatres like mentioned above. It could also be that the duration of these movies could be 3 hours long and with such a long duration, people are forced to buy eateries from the cafeteria of the cineplexes. But even the prices of the cafeteria are quite high discouraging the people to come for such a long movie. If the above is true, then the recommendation is considerably flawed.

Lastly, the director says that the percentage of positive reviews increased in the past year. However, he doesn't mention what is being considered as a positive review. it could be that reviewers have given mediocre reviews to the movies and still the marketing company has considered that as positive reviews. However, when people read those reviews, they considered the movie to be like the reviewers said, mediocre and automatically decided not to empty their wallets in watching a mediocre movie and simply watch it from the comfort of their home. If the above is true, then the recommendation does not hold water.

As of now, the recommendation is in need of a more comprehensive study to unravel more parameters that have caused less audience in the past year. Perhaps a systematic study could help the director and the marketing team come to a more firm conclusion what has discouraged people to watch movies.