The best way to teach is to praise the positive actions and ignore the negative ones

Teaching someone the right things to do in life is a delicate job to do. The proper and most benificial way of doing this can be debated and still the debate may end on a cliffhanger. In the prompt, it is mentioned that praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones is the best way to teach. Though praising the positive actions can play a vital role in someone's life, I mostly disagree with the statement for a number of reasons.

First of all, if we simply ignore the negative actions taken by someone, the one making those actions may not be able to understand that something is wrong with the actions. In order to reduce the person's negative actions, much emphasis must be put in those. Counselling the person properly is needed to make him understand what is going wrong. Otherwise, he can spend his whole life repeating the same actions without even knowing something was wrong those, or even worse, being attacked by someone for a particular action in a horrific way, when he had no idea something was wrong with it. For example, if a child starts disrespecting the elderly people in the family, he needs to be made aware of the fact that this is not the right way to behave. If his parents just ignore this action, he may end up disrespecting every elderly person he meets in his life, which may lead to severe consequences. So, telling what is wrong in a straightforward way is a must but it has to be done in a way without hurting the person.

Secondly, if a person doesn't get to know what he is doing wrong, he would not be able to correct it. To improve the characteristics and be a better person we need to know how we can improve things we are doing in a wrong way. Before knowing how to improve, we need to know what to improve. This is a continuous process that lasts a lifetime, as none can be completely pure. It is in the way of improving little things, that we make ourselves a better person. So, in order to, teach someone to achieve a better way of life, first he has to taught what are the inappropriate actions taken by him and then the exhaustive way of correcting it. That is putting a lot of emphasis on the wrong actions and not just ignoring those. For instance, if we want to teach the child the mentioned aproper way to behave, first, we need to tell he is disrespecting the elderly people and then we need to teach how he can behave properly.

We cannot deny the significance of praising the positive actions to encourage a person to accomplish more, to be a better person, and keep up the good work but praising postive actions and warning negative ones must be done simultaneouly to achieve the best results in teaching a person.