To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college students colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton s which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty

In the prompt, it is recommended that all instituitions should adopt the honor code system similar to Groveton College in order for decreasing cheating among students. The recommendation is based on two factors. First one is that reported cases of cheating decreased after the system was adopted. Another, quoting from a survey that students are less likely to cheat when the system is in operation. The recommendation looks convincing at first, but if we dig deep into the matter, it is apparent that the author took several assumptions that were unwarranted.

First of all, were the cases reported by students scrutinized for validity? They might be false allegations made by young students just to look good under the honor code. There's no good in making the students report false cases of cheating against one another. It only destroys the morale, environment ,and relationships among the students. Students might get more corrupted to gain a good reputation under this honor code system which is initiated to reduce cheating on the first place.

Secondly, which category of students participated on the survey? It might be the case that students who are in good positions, reporting numerous cases of cheating, are the only ones who participated on the survey. Students who had been accused of cheating might be too frustrated to even take part in it. So, if the survey was not carried out in a scientifically correct method, the results might lead to wrong conclusions. In that case, the claim that students were less likely to cheat under honor code would not hold water.

Thirdly, it is mentioned that on the fifth year of honor code, cases of cheating among students plummated. Were the mentioned decrease in cheating reported among the same batch of students? If it ws not among the same batch of students, it might be the case that the later batch were more honest. So, reports made were less in number. It could have also happened that the students just decided among themselves that they would not reporst case against one another further. As a result, the number of reported case decreased. The author need to elaborate the claim that reduced number of reprted case of cheating really signified that the actual cases of cheating declined.

To sum up, we can clearly say that the recommendation, as it stand now, seems to have been made on several flawed assumptions. The author need to show evidence that would carify these mentioned questions arised. Otherwise, the claims would be invalidated.