Educators should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take

Whereas students' demand can be a significant thing to consider for the educators, it is also important to offer what the students truely need to learn for a better future of themselves and the nation. The prompt mentions the consideration of the educators about what the students want in the curriculum and then offering it to them. I mostly disagree with the statement for a number of reasons.

First of all, students are still "students", who are yet to get education to be better and more considerate humans. What they want in the curriculum can be influenced by their age and level of maturity. So, what they think about including in the curriculum will not always be the right things for them. The nation might need other different things for the students to learn in order for its development. Perhaps, some studies which are required for the welfare of the nation or the students' personal lives may deemed uninteresting by the students and they may want to exclude those. On the contrary, educators are experts in this field. Their maturity cannot be doubted. As a result, things they consider important to be included in the curriculum and extents they determine, are likely to be better for the students. For example, students who have not entered high school or on a very early level of education may want sex education to included in their curriculum to the extent which is not right for their age. This can be stemmed from their sheer curiosity to know things that are not suitable for their age. On the other hand, educators will know the right extents of different areas of subjects that need to be taught based on their experience and research findings. So, things are much less likely to go wrong when they are free to determine what the curriculum should provide.

Secondly, students from different backgrounds or having different interests would want significantly different things to be included in the curriculum. Educators may get perplexed by the variety of demands given by the students. For instance, A student living in the urban area may not be interested in learning agriculture whereas it is important for a student living in the rural area. A student who is more inclined towards science may not want to learn things related to business and literature but some level of knowledge in those fields are required by everyone. So, educators should not simply collect data about what students want and make the curriculum a collection of haphazardly organized various things. Rather they should design it in the way according to real research, experience and insights from the field of pedagogy.

The importance to know what students' want in their curriculum cannot be doubted. The areas which are ubiquitously wanted should be emphasized when designing the curriculum. Although this aspect should be considered, it cannot be blindly followed by the educators.