The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Every person has a good habit and a bad habit, many look only at their good side and choose to ignore their negative actions. Obviously, it is very easy to just focus on your good habits, but things that contribute to your growth isn’t just a constant list of good habits, it is the constantly increasing good habits and decreasing bad habits that indicates good growth. This requires humans to focus more on negative actions and analyse them and learn how to tackle them in order to improve themselves.

There is a common philosophy amongst the world’s most successful people, “You learn more from your failures than from your success”. It is safe to say that most of the people in the world do not achieve success on their first try. They persist with hard work, dedication, passion and many such things, but the most important thing that an individual needs to do in order to achieve success is to learn from their past mistakes. These mistakes are the difference between success and failure, and it is only when a person analyses them and learns how to tackle them, an individual can improve. Be it a teacher who teaches young students, a parent or an individual who is self-learning; praising positive actions can improve the moral but paying attention to negative actions and analysing them holistically can do wonders if done correctly.

Teaching new habits becomes impertinent and stagnates growth if someone keeps making the same old mistakes. In order to improve, it is important to not only focus on positive actions as it encourages an individual to grow, but to also scrutinise the negative actions to learn all the minute delicacies that impacts your growth. For instance, in tennis, before any match a player and its coach analyse their opponent’s game, note down all their strengths and their weaknesses. But that itself wouldn’t suffice as just knowing an opponent’s strengths and weakness wouldn’t benefit the player that much, instead applying that knowledge by analysing how the player itself can cope against the opponent and how they could adjust their game against the opponent is very important. Something that is even more important is how the player can hide their weakness against that specific opponent and stop them from exploiting these mistakes. Focusing on positive actions against the opponent can win you points but ignoring your negatives can cost you the match.

This philosophy of concentrating more on your negatives than on your positives is almost ubiquitous everywhere in the world in every field of work, even in a parent-child relationship. A parent teaching good habits to their child cannot just ignore their bad habits. They need to spot their good habits as well as their bad habits and try to make them understand how disregarding bad habits may ossify them. In every field of work an individual needs to keep learning and focus on both sides of the coin, the good actions and the bad actions. Good actions will let the individual know their capabilities, interests, etc. Bad actions will shape the individual’s overall development, the more they focus on bad habits and try to improve them, the more they will develop themselves personally or professionally.

Therefore it is important to not only focus on good habits but to also focus on bad actions as it will do them good in the future by trying to improve themselves constantly. Ignoring bad habits will just cease development and won’t lead to the overall growth.