Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

As it is popularly known across the world that someone who possesses moderate knowledge across all the domains has a better chance of becoming successful than someone who possesses profound knowledge in one field but is very limited in all the other important fields necessary to function efficiently as a human being. I strongly believe in the thought that people should be groomed to learn various things when they are at universities to unleash their real potential in them and help them become successful people.

If universities provide students with only a focused course instead of a variety of courses along with the student’s field of work, the student might become very well learned and expert in their field of work but won’t have a clue what’s happening around them. They will require assistance to solve issues if they face even a single problem outside of their scope and this might stunt their growth. For instance, if a student solely focuses on engineering instead of other skills such as finance, then he might become a leader in the field of engineering one day, but what if he wants to establish his own company? He will require profound knowledge about how a company works financially or how to manage funds, and how to bring in investors. If he doesn’t have a clue about these things then he might have to take help from someone else, which is okay to some extent but in the long run, this might ossify him. In other words, learning a variety of things will make them understand how things work and as it is known popularly, learning never goes to waste. You might learn something which might not be of use today but it might prove to be a boon later in your life when you need it or there is a high demand for it.

On other hand, if universities do provide students with a variety of courses, their development will continue to grow in all directions. As it is well known today that the market is ever-changing, we never know what skill might be in demand a few years down the line. Therefore it is imperative that students learn as much as they can as it is easy for them to grasp different knowledge whenever possible to do so. Instead of learning things when there is a serious need for them, we should try and learn them gradually as it inculcates interest and remains with us for a longer time. For example, if a doctor has to give a speech at a conference but isn’t a confident speaker, then she might feel the pressure of delivering her best on the day and might falter under that pressure. Now imagine if she had gradually learned how to speak confidently in front of people during her school or college years, she wouldn’t have this anxiety of speaking in front of tons of unknown people and the fear of mortifying herself. The pith of this example is that you never know when you might be faced with a task that you have never learned or heard about and that is okay but at least having knowledge about basic stuff such as public speaking, personality development, accounting, finances, cooking, etc would go a long way into getting developed as a human being.

Now some people might say that it is not possible to learn all the things in the world, and it is absolutely the truth. It is impossible to learn everything in the world but everyone should at least have a basic knowledge about the most essential things which are a common part of a human’s life and this is where universities can nurture young students into growing overall in their lives by providing them a variety of courses.