The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Throughout our lives, we learn from the people around us, which, more or less, shaped our future. But what makes one a good mentor? This prompt suggests that only encouraging good behaviors is the optimal way for teaching not just school subjects, but also important life lessons. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the idea of turning a blind eye on mistakes when they occur for two reasons.

First, recovering from mistakes, once pointed out, not only educates us on distinguishing the rights and wrongs, but also helps us manage mentally when exposed to disapproval during adult life. An established scientific journal stated that our brain memorizes the set of awful emotions, such as guilt and shame, after a mistake is called out in order to prevent it from reoccurring in the future. Moreover, our brain gradually learns the way to appropriately process critiques particularly during childhood and adolescence. When entering adult life, which is no smooth sailing, criticism will most definitely come from all directions. Hence, if one has only heard praise throughout his or her youth, it is possible that the slightest amount of negative opinion can be crippling for them.

Additionally, without intervention, a one-time negative action can perpetuate into a habit. When researchers conduct interviews to get a comprehensive understanding of serial rapists’ psyche and their behavior, it is common that these perpetrators had the experience in earlier age of not being called out during their first harmful attempts. Specifically, the fact that no one took serious notes on the issue reinforced their idea that their action is completely normal behaviour, which later led to serious backlash. The above example clearly demonstrated the importance of early intervention on negative actions. If anyone took time to recognize and intervene at the bud of any horrendous behaviour, perhaps many would not become criminals and the society is more harmonized as a result.

Certainly, some may argue that focusing on criticism can lead to one’s lower self-esteem and confidence, which is why we should focus on only praising good deeds. Nevertheless, as stated in the first paragraph, this kind of “confidence” formed by showers of compliments is vain, fragile, and unhealthy and certainly should not be regarded as the best way of teaching.