Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

From navigating with constellations and maps to plan our travels within seconds with mobile softwares; from believing people with certain illness are simply witches to figuring out the origins of these illness lies within the intricate systems connected by billions of neurons, technology breakthroughs and insights about the world around us came from all the relentless research and development efforts from the world’s brightest minds. The prompt recommends that government should place regulations or laws on scientific investigations and development. In my view, I strongly agree that regulations are necessary while achieving these breakthroughs for two reasons.

To begin, scientific research and development is not a closed bubble, it often have massive influence on the external world. Nuclear research, for instance, have advanced between the 1960s and 1980s. Despite its past glory, nuclear research facilities have been notorious due to the way they dispose nuclear wastes, which has a detrimental effect on millions of residents and their descendants as well as the overall environmental wellbeing in that area. Research has stated that organisms that are constantly exposed to nuclear waste are two hundred percent more prone to cancer comparing to others who are not, and the permanent damage on their genes caused by radiation can result congenital malformation in their children. Countries that conducts heavy nuclear research have gathered over the year to draft and place nuanced laws and instructions on nuclear waste disposal procedures to minimize the impact on its local residents, which potentially saved millions and prevented re-enacting past tragedies. This example illustrates that regulation and laws are essential to ensure that we maximize the benefits from the technology and minimize the accompanying risks.

Further, humans are not the only ones that are involved in the progress of science, laboratory animals largely contributed to various research domains. Due to their biological proximity with humans, researchers use mice to gain insight on how our brain functions. Primates are often used for scholars to observe social behaviours. Since they cannot be vocal about their feelings in such a way that humans can understand, they are completely vulnerable for being exploited. A research that proved how mothers’ affection plays a vital role in shaping children, left un-mendable scars on the young monkeys participating in the test psychologically. These primates showed hostile and aggressive behaviour towards the others, which prevented them from integrate back into their society. For a social species, just like us, this is cruelty on another level. In recent years, governments made comprehensive changes on animal welfare laws to discourage commercial companies as well as research facilities on animal testing. Thus, it is obvious from the example that government regulations promote more ethical environment for research and development.

Of course, some may argue that restrictions can decelerate technological advancements and introduce bureaucracy into the research process. I believe, however, breakthroughs should minimize its impact. The time researchers spend filling out paperwork is trivial comparing to the time solving issues caused by unregulated researches.