The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in

which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and

explain how these examples shape your position.

Teaching is an art and one’s way of teaching purely depends on how he shapes the future of the person learning from him. It is often said that a great teacher is one that helps an average student reach the top rather than already helping an excellent student be there. The statement mentioned above claims that the best way to teach is praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. In my opinion, this is not true and I will support my opinion by stating three examples.

Firstly, I think that the receiving negative feedback is the most essential in the curve of learning. It is often said that failure is the stepping stone of success. This does not mean to demotivate someone in pursuing something, rather it is a constructive feedback that will help a person get better at something. For instance, lets consider an example that of Virat Kohli, who in 2012 was a popular young cricketer who had already achieved some great feats for Indian Cricket, but at the time went through a very lean patch and was unable to even keep his in the team. At that time rather than focusing on what positive things he had already done, he got constructive feedbacks though might feel negative, but were very important for him to improve. He worked on the feedback given and now we all know how great a cricketer he is.

Secondly, another negative effect of giving only positive feedbacks is that one will not know is he or she is going on the right path or not. Giving only positive feedbacks will make them feel that they are always on the right path and success is now an easy thing for them to achieve. And when they fail at it, they are shocked. So it is very much important for one to receive negative feedback, because that comes in as a reality check and will rather make them more focused on the goal they are trying to achieve.

Thirdly, negative feedbacks act as a source of motivation for someone. If you tell someone that they are not sufficiently doing what they should, it might motivate them to work harder and not give a chance for complacency in future. So in this case, though people will not like negative feedback but they will take it as source of motivation and prove it to the world that they are capable. Many startups if would have not received this negative response, would not have been where they are right now. Apple, Amazon, all these startups received negative response and it only helped them achieve more.