Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Although the prospect of universities requiring students to only take courses specific to the field they are interested in studying could be more cost-efficient, - shortening undergraduate school time and financial costs - the module does not adhere to our culture, a whole systematic schooling change would need to occur, and ultimately, the clashing of a new policy and contradicting culture could only prolong student’s time in undergrad. The process of high school and the fact that college is culturally seen as a coming-of-age period for young adults, supports a more versatile education in college. Assuming college students know the occupation they want to pursue for their whole life at the age of 18 is at dissonance with such a cultural understanding.

High school now demands an excessive range of efforts and interests from our youth. To even be a competitive applicant for not only college admission but also, scholarship - which is needed for most students because of the insane cost of college - a high schooler has to have an excellent GPA, SAT score, and commitment to a variety of extra-curricular activities. Juggling all these different realms leaves little time for exploration of interests or even deep introspection for personal desires. Expecting a high schooler to know their career path by the time they are entering college is asking them to make a commitment with the bare-minimum knowledge, if that, of a variety subjects and little to no experience in those fields. Requiring students to commit to a single career path is not allowing high schoolers to make the most informed decision.

Without a whole shift in the structure of high school and requirements for college, a high schooler will most likely not have the capacity to successfully make a thoroughly explored decision about their future. If the demands for students to get straight A’s or have the perfect application for college were lessened, students might have time and capacity to explore diverse careers in high school. Until those pressures are lessened it would be presumptuous to expect a high schooler to know which career path they desire at 18 years old.

Along these lines, college is seen as the time to “find yourself”. If a student is in the process of becoming who they are meant to be, their career aspirations most likely would change along the way. With this kind of turbulence, the undergrad experience could end up being not so efficient; students might need to change their field of interest a handful of times. Requiring students to take general, entry level courses intends to create room for exploration of diverse fields and yet, even this buffer, students are prone to changing fields at least once in the course of four years. Unless the culture surrounding youth, independence, and identity is accelerated to the point where high schoolers “know themselves” and experience the maturity of a full grown adult, expecting students to know their desired field of study feels fruitless.

In recognition of cultural and policy compatibility, sustaining a college education with mandated multifaceted courses is most beneficial to students. The system works as it does because of exterior factors like high school education and the maturation process of 18-22 year olds. Unless these factors were to change, the policy of only requiring students to take course of interest, would ultimately, be less successful than the current system.