The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is said that teaching is similar to making a pot of mud, either one can make a beautiful piece of pot out of it or can ruin the mud completely. Teaching is said to be the most noble profession as the teacher has the ability to shape the generations. However, teaching does not stop at educator or teacher, the job continues even if you are a parent, employer or even a friend.

It is very important that everyone feel confident for performing any kind of task be as minimal as doing household chores or as complex as building a space craft. Confidence plays key role for making any task in hand efficacious. Such confidence even if the innate quality of few individuals, often gets developed with past positive experiences. Therefore, it is very important that positive actions of the individuals need to be acknowledged and praised which gives them motivation to keep on doing the positive work. There is a concept of growth mindset in which a person shall be able to think from a growth perspective. He/she shall be able to take decisions freely in so that any organization can flourish and this will happen only when any individual has confidence in himself/herself.

Furthermore, just because it is important to boost confidence of an individual does not necessarily mean that we should ignore all of their negative actions. Being human beings it’s understandable that they will make mistakes. However, as humans work through collaboration, any individual’s actions will certainly impact people surrounding him/her. In order to boost confidence of an employee a company can not keep on incurring losses. Therefore, it is necessary to have strict discipline and every individual shall be accountable for the mistakes or negative actions he/she takes. If we keep on ignoring mistakes of any individuals then there are high chances that they will not take any task in hand seriously and this will indicate a signal to them that they are allowed to take as many negative actions as they want. Therefore to avoid setting of such bad habit, it is essential that negative actions are not tolerated and id required punished with appropriate punishments.

Hence I think that a perfect teaching method shall be combination of both i.e. praising the positive actions and therefore boosting the confidence of an individual as well as reprimanding for the negative actions which will employ discipline amongst the individuals.