To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Society is formed by people having same beliefs. In order to understand important characteristics of society, it is important to study the people that constitute the particular society.

Now a days, majority of people reside in cities due to availability of opportunities, resources and a better lifestyle. Therefore, one can come to a conclusion that focusing on the major cities will provide necessary information for understanding the important aspect of the society.Today the world is advancing and due to advancement in communication & technology, the urbanization is rapidly spreading in under developed countries like India, Africa etc. The major population that is getting affected by urbanization is in the city due to accessibility to all the resources. Hence such major cities are having cosmopolitan population. These people are getting influenced by the cultures and beliefs of other developed countries. Hence, we can say that the people living in the majority cities are following a hybrid culture/beliefs i.e. the one from their native place and one of the developed countries.Therefore, one can get information regarding few characteristics of the society i.e. changing aspects of the society, by focusing on this population

In contrary people residing in the provincial part of any society are less affected by such urbanization. Hence, to understand core culture/ belief it is best to focus on these people. One can understand a core understanding, reasoning and way of life by studying this part of the society. The people in this particular region will follow culture that has been followed by their ancestors and as they have been staying in this area for a long time such beliefs and culture will follow from one generation to another.Therefore, one can get the most authentic information regarding all aspects of society by focusing on this particular part of the society.

Therefore, in order to understand most important characteristic of society it is essential to consider urban as well as pastoral aspects of the society which is possible by focusing on both major cities as well as provincial part of it.