Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author recommends that the Pleasantville Board School should start a program requiring the school students to complete 40 hours of mandatory community service. They reach the conclusion based on values that the students would gain and the assistance provided to the local charities. However, the author makes some unwarranted assumptions, which if proved incorrect would seriously undermine the argument.

First, the argument prematurely assumes that making the community service mandatory will help the charitable organisations. Community service is something which should not be mandated or forced, a person should try and give back to the society of their own accord not due to compulsion. It is possible that the students who are not interested will find malicious ways to get out of the voluntary work. Thus, making the recommendation seem flawed.

Second, the argument fails to consider the undue burden it will be putting on the students. It assumes that every student will be able to donate 40 hours of community service, and it won't have any impact on their academic performance. A possibility is that the decline in number of students over the years has been because of children not being able to handle both the things at once. Perhaps a few of them also do chores or other menial jobs in their free time. Not everyone will be of the same financial stature, so community service might not be a viable option for them. If either of these scenarios has merit, the argument holds no water.

Finally, it is posited that making high school children volunteer for the charities will help in alleviating their needs. It is possible that some children fail to perform the duties assigned to them properly, considering their age and experience. This might add to the woes of the local charities. Maybe asking only students who are genuinely interested, or more experienced adults who might be better at handling the tasks.

All things considered, the argument, as it stands now, fails to provide a reasonable explanation because of its reliance on fallacious assumptions. If the author is able to provide validation of the assumptions stated, then it will be possible to fully assess the recommendation of the author.