Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too
often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and
acting because they enjoy feeling comfortable and fear the
unknown
The argument that improved academic training, in the form of required credits in
education and psychology, will substantially alleviate the problem of poorly
performing teachers may seem logical at first glance. However, the author relies
on unsupported assumptions about what kind of development teachers need and
mechanisms for replacing poor teachers with newly certified teachers. Therefore,
the argument is fundamentally flawed and unconvincing.
First, the writer assumes that the required courses will produce better teachers.
In fact, the courses might be entirely irrelevant to the teachers’ failings. Suppose,
for example, that the main problem lies in cultural and linguistic misunderstandings
between teachers and students; graduate-level courses that do not address
these issues would be of little use in bridging these gaps and improving educational
outcomes. Furthermore, the writer assumes that poorly performing teachers
have not already taken these courses. If the state's teachers have already
undergone such training but still fail to serve their students, then requiring them
to take the classes again is unlikely to address the problem. In fact, the writer
establishes no correlation between the teachers' classroom performance and
their academic coursework.
Additionally, the writer provides no evidence that poorly performing teachers who
are already certified will either stop teaching or will undergo additional training. In
its current form, the argument implies that only teachers seeking certification,
who may or may not be teachers already in the system, will receive the specified
training. Furthermore, the author fails to establish a link between becoming
certified and actually being hired in the public school system. If school systems
have budget shortfalls and institute a hiring freeze, then newly certified teachers
may not enter classrooms for quite some time. Unless there is a way to transition
poor teachers out of the classroom and ensure teachers with proper training are
soon hired, the bright future the writer envisions may be decades away.
The notion that the specified coursework will create better teachers would be
strengthened by evidence that the training will address barriers to educating
students. For example, if a state with similar demographics had implemented
similar guidelines and then seen either improved learning as measured by
standardized tests or improved teaching as documented by teacher observations,
then one could conclude with more confidence that the guidelines should be
implemented in this state. Also, the author would be considerably more persuasive
if she showed that a plan is in place to either require all teachers to gain this
certification or terminate poor performers without the certification. The author
should also demonstrate that the public schools have the budgets to hire newly
certified teachers so they can begin to have an effect on students.
In conclusion, the writer is not necessarily mistaken in stating that the state’s
comprehensive guidelines will lead to improvement in educational outcomes in
public schools. After all, the additional training would probably not adversely
affect classroom performance. However, to support the assertion that the
guidelines will effectively solve the state’s problem, the writer must first define
the scope of the problem more clearly and submit more conclusive evidence that
the new requirements will, in fact, improve overall teaching performance. Without
such evidence, stakeholders in the public school system, including parents,
administrators, and legislators, should be skeptical that education will improve
anytime soon.