Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

One cannot get a clarity about an idea until and unless he/she goes throught the view and counter view of the idea. The prompt recommends that a strong argument has the ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the claim that argument is the best in changing an opposing person's view for several reasons.

Firstly, the reason rightly suggest that only ny forcing someone against an idea against the doubt and contrasting views of others and make us realize the importance of that idea. For instance the abortion law that was passed recenlty many dogmatic people disagreed with the idea of abortion and chastice the idea of women having the control over pregnancy, yet when the pro's and con's of abortion were discussed and strong counterpoints were made acted as a fuel in to spread the fire of the abortion law. In the above example if the opponents to abortion law were not forced to rethink , then it would have been a tedious task in explaining them the pertinance of the issue and the value of the idea.

Secondly, consistently bolstering our argument plays a crucial role in makinf people realize the importance of the argument. For example, consider the case of the widely known author of the book series "Harry porter" J.K. Rowling. She faced a lot of challenges while publishing the famous book series "Harry Porter", but she was entrenched to her argument that, the book will be the best selling book and she proved it by continously arguing about the counterpoints from her critics. Thus with strong argument our belief in it also plays a crucial role to convince someone of a opposing view.

Lastly, consider a student studing in a university he/she has a tendency to make mistakes in the university examinations but he/she is unwilling to accept them and considers the mistakes as mundane task to improve and continue to ignore the mistakes. A professor noted the student on-going mistakes and forced him/her to improve by showing the positive view of improving the mistakes. Hence, contrasting views of others can be a boon in our life. While some may disagree to this statement that argument is not the only way to change a persons perspective, but give the avalability of reasons the other point of view cannot be taken as a universal truth, hence my view is more agreeable. In short argument plays a vital role of convincing an person in opposition to our view and we should continue to practice it.