Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based

Dreams and Goals are two differently meaning words but for some people their goal is their dream or vice-versa. The author claims that often young people are being advised to "follow your dreams" but picking up worthy career goals should be given more emphasis, the reason being many people's dream are inherently selfish. I do not agree to the author's claim nevertheless, there are some people for whom picking up worthy goals is necessary. My stance with cogent reasoning and suitable examples is discussed further.

Dreams and passion go hand in hand. Many youngsters do things they dream to achieve by more hard work and passionately than for things chosen on basis of worthy goals. They will be more effective, productive and creative when working for their dream or passion. They will want to achieve their dream not for selfish reasons but because they love doing it. The reason given by author for the claim that young people should set up a worthy goal instead of following dreams because people's dream are selfish doesn't make me believe that.

It may be the case that people are likely to receive huge salaries, fame and recognition by working hard to achieve their dreams, but that doesn't typically mean they wanted to achieve it because they have some selfish motives behind it. For instance, Sir Isaac Newton and Thomas Edison accidentally invented theory of gravitational force and light respectively. Their passion of discovering reasons behind everything made them a great scientist and not because they had some selfish motives behind it.

However, there are some young people who don't have any passion or couldn't find any interest at an early age. For them, I believe choosing a worthy goal would make more sense like author said but the reasoning is still something that I don't agree as even to achieve a goal you set is a hardworking task and along with that, one will have to develop interest as well to pursue their goal in a better and fruitful way. In addition, Young people are very whimsical when making decisions about their goals. They tend to follow the career path where most of the other people are likely to go and not because they are interested in that.

In conclusion, following dreams for the passion and interest you have discovered and developed should be more recommendable for youngsters than just setting up a worthy goal. Because no matter what it is a dream or a goal, it cannot be achieved if one has selfish reasons behind it as to achieve anything hard work, determination and interest are must.