Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Government is the governing body of any country’s overall development. The author claims that it is an incumbent of the government that it should financially support the major cities within the nation in order to preserve nation’s cultural heritage. I strongly disagree with the author’s claim and is described in the following 3 major points.

Firstly, cities are the place where people of different cultural background live. And in such places, it is very difficult and unwise to conserve the cultural traditions. If in a place like Kathmandu, the capital city of Nepal, where people of different cultural background live together in harmony, a specific traditional culture is given importance and tried to preserve, the objective of the project is certain to be failed. As people have already started to find the balance between different cultures and made their living, it would be illogical to invest in cities in order to conserve nation’s cultural traditions.

Secondly, the cultural traditions are pristine in rural part rather than in the major cities. So, it would be reasonable to support to the countryside, where the traditional culture are still in practice and not influenced by the western culture. For example, if mithila culture (an ancient traditional culture of eastern terai region of Nepal) is supported by government through various programs, it could introduce Nepal with the rest of the world and be a good touristic place, with ultimately increasing the economic standards of the rural life.

Furthermore, with the investment on the major cities, it is not sure that the countries different cultures will be protected. For example, a small country like Nepal (occupying only 0.3% of the total land of the world) also has a great diversity of cultures. Therefore, instead of investing more money in major cities, it would be wiser to invest on the rural part of the country in order to conserve the cultural heritage of the country.

Although, some may argue that, major cities which are rich in cultural heritages must be given more importance and conserved. It is only felt and not real because cities are the places where important people such as policy makers to journalist live and cities have got exaggerated and there are many more important Along places on the countryside which have never got importance are in the real need of the support. with this, the tradition of the country side is still in pristine stage while the culture of major cities is already mixed up. So, it will be wiser to support the rural tradition instead in the major cities.