Some people feel that high school students should be required to do volunteer work in their free time. Others think that they should spend their free time studying and preparing for classes.

Which do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Student life is a sensitive stage of life. As the saying goes, “Morning shows the day” the person’s student life indicates if his life is going to be bed of roses or not. Personally speaking, I feel students should be involved in some volunteering jobs rather than studying all day and night. This helps in all round development of the student.

To begin with, volunteering jobs teach students to be responsible and dutiful which are the foremost requirements of successful life in future. While during my high school I was involved in scout. There I learnt not only cooking, doing dishes but also to help others in need and care about them. This changed me from being a self centred one to a family guy. I attribute myself as a good son to my parents all because of the teachings during by volunteering time.

Furthermore, involving in other activities apart from study makes our mind fresh. This leads to better efficiency while reading. While I was in school, I used to separate some of my time in community sanitation program. Interacting with many people in that program used to help me garner more experience and knowledge. I used to apply the lesson learnt in my studies and they helped me progress in my study.

On the contrary, dedicating all of the time in study makes our life monotonous and boring. Despite our extra efforts, the results do not change that significantly. This happened to my sister while she was in her high school. She had special inclination towards studying and thus was always studying. She never talked to anyone or got involved in any activities apart from studying. This made her socially distant and she could not even improve her grades because of her constant fear of being average. Later on when she was frustrated, I suggested her to come with me in my social service. She started enjoying it and rejoicing the life.

To sum up, students should involve in social services as this not only makes them responsible and fresh but also prevents their life from being cliché and boring.